The Quickest Post Ever.

April 2, 2009

So it is my 19th birthday, it’s 3:30 in the morning, and I have a huge long day with tons of classes and then lots of celebrating ahead of me. But I quickly looked at my blog stats, and saw that a lot of hits have been coming from this website:¬†http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/swarthmore/680294-transfer-students.html

In case some of you transfer hopefuls have been reading this blog and not the College Confidential, this can act as another resource for you guys. I know it’s stressful to wait, but deep breaths!

And some quick facts from my experience:

  • There were over 100 applicants for transfer last year, I’m not sure how many were admitted, but 16 came
  • Of those sixteen, there were 9 junior transfers and 7 sophomore transfers (this was apparently atypical)
  • I was the only transfer student admitted from community college, though there was a transfer from a two-year school called Deep Springs I believe
  • Transfers that I know of from the past two years have come from: PCC, Boston University, Georgetown, Penn State, Haverford, Bryn Mawr, UMass, Wellsley, Brown, Sarah Lawrence, UChicago, UMichigan, Willamette University, American Air Force Academy, Wesleyan, Rochester University¬†

Take a good hard look at that list. Don’t try and second guess whether or not you got in based on that list. Transfers, like Swatties, are from all walks of life. So breathe. Seriously. This month and a half will crawl by, but the rest will be a blur, regardless of whether or not you get in.

Do some yoga,
The Transfer Student

5 Responses to “The Quickest Post Ever.”

  1. Asael Mendez Says:

    Hi,

    I am amendez, the guy who posted that thread on College Confidential. I have to say, your blog has really helped me see the ups and downs of Swarthmore as a transfer student. One question though. I was wondering how did you hear that Swat will enroll 27 transfers this fall? I could not find it on Swarthmore’s website.

    Thanks,

    Asael Mendez

  2. Asael Mendez Says:

    By the way, Happy Birthday! Hope you are having fun!!!

  3. Aubrey Says:

    deep springs sounds godly…


  4. Hi Asael and Aubrey,
    Sorry it took so long to get back to you Asael. It was published in the Daily Gazette, but I can’t find the original article, unfortunately.
    And yes, Aubrey, Deep Springs does sound godly…it’s a very interesting experience.
    Good luck guys!
    -AYC

  5. threaten Says:

    I’ll right away take hold of your rss feed as I can not find
    your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please let me realize so that I may subscribe.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

