The Sophomore Papers, the Dorm-Warming Party, and the Impending Implosion.

February 25, 2009

Well as always, it has been way too long since I last updated this. But I’m hoping that I can fill in the gaps quickly and concisely.

Last week was a ton of fun, and lucrative. I waited tables at Paces Cafe as usual on Monday, and was the only server at a small dinner at the Vice President’s house on Thursday. I actually got offered a job at the catering company, which would be fantastic and provide some much needed money. After I got back, the usual suspects gathered at Pub Nite, along with one of Rich’s friends from high school. No one else has really had friends come visit besides me and Rayan, so it was a lot of fun. I always enjoy meeting people that were friends with my friends long before I knew them, it lets you learn a lot about them. So anyway, we knocked Rich’s friend Joe’s socks off with how awesome and relaxed the college is, and on Friday after Macro, Rich had a second friend come from the University of Iowa. We met him in Philly, got a genuine Philly cheesesteak at Jim’s, and stocked up on supplies for the dorm-warming party.

My new roommate Anagha decided to skip out on the festivities for a date with friends at Penn, since she was too sick to go out Valentine’s weekend. But a ton of people ended up cramming into the loft, the drinks and conversation flowed, and my desk was covered in a sticky and questionable brewery-like substance the next morning. By all standards, that sounds like a successful party to me!

Saturday was the LSE (large scale event), Estelle, which I did not attend. Don’t get me wrong, I find “American Boy” to be an incredible display of artistic achievement, I just had a Rattech job to do. It was a barn party, and ended up costing me nearly three hours of my life on Saturday, and all of my day Sunday. I was waiting around constantly for the people to call me to come pick up the speakers, and as a result missed out on getting tutored for my Macro midterm. So if I fail this midterm…well let’s just say that a barn-related incident of arson may coincidentally occur.

Monday was the Macro exam. I think I understood it, but I could have been completely off and just bombed it. And right before the test, I had an incredibly stressful meeting with my advisor for Political Science. Basically I’m going to have to work myself to the bone to get into the honors program, and even then I might not get in. But I’m going to give it my best shot, and hopefully something good will come of it.

Spring break in Portland starting next Friday! I can’t wait. And this weekend is a debate tournament at GW. Psyched for both.

Until next time,
The Transfer Student

Leave a Reply

