The Big Move.

February 14, 2009

So it is 4:30 a.m., and I just crawled into Fort Metaphor for the last time. It’s a little bit sad, but the reason that this is my last night in Willets is that tomorrow I am moving to Alice Paul! For those of you who are unfamiliar with the campus, Alice Paul is the newest and nicest of the dorms.

One of Rayan’s friends, Anagha, had her roommate move out unexpectedly. So I was lucky enough to come to an agreement with her, and am now going to be living in a loft in AP. It seemed like a really great opportunity especially considering how opposite my sleeping habits are from Charlotte’s.

Things have been going well on the academic front, not too much to report thus far. It’s weird to think we’ve been back for a month, it still feels like a settling in phase. I’ve been to two debate tournaments so far, NYU and Bryn Mawr. NYU was just unbelievable, right in the heart of the city. I definitely do long for a city sometimes, being at Swat, but the people and the classes are worth it for sure.

On top of Peaslee and classes, I started waiting tables at Paces Cafe Monday nights. It’s actually a lot of fun, and I could definitely use the money. I’m also signed up for a catering gig at the Vice President of the college’s house on Thursday, and am going to start working for Rattech, the people who hook up the electronics for events, etc.

And on a more personal note, I’ve just started my first “Quaker Matchbox” relationship. College dating is definitely a surreal experience, especially at a place as small as Swat, but I’m having a good time, which is what counts.

So that’s a quick 4 in the morning update…now I must get some sleep before I have to start moving!

Hopefully yours,
The Transfer Student

One Response to “The Big Move.”

  1. Jeanie Says:

    LIES DAVID KEMP IS THE NEWEST AND NICEST OF THE DORMS.

    also, where did you hear about this catering gig? i’ve been checking EVERYWHERE for that sort of things and just haven’t seen it.

Leave a Reply

