The Swarthmore Guilt-Filler Post.

December 31, 2008

Break has been great. I have literally sat around playing Pac-Man for hours at a time, stuffed my face with delicious, non-Sharples food, and managed to sleep an average of ten hours a night. (I slept for 21 hours consecutively at one point early in break, which cured my cold entirely.) I’ve indulged in my guilty VH1 Celebreality pleasures, and had an all around great time.

But once Swarthmore has its hooks in you, it doesn’t let go. Like a Catholic skipping church, at first the time is freeing. As time goes on, however, you become uncomfortable with your free time, you have to repent and all of that…etc, etc.

This post is my repentance. I need to do something with my time! And, besides that, I had a record number of hits yesterday. And ALSO, it’s December 30th, which means the deadline for regular decision applicants for the class of 2013 have all submitted their applications. This means that the only people that have yet to make up their minds about whether or not they’re applying to Swat next year are…the transfer students!

So in order to convince you to apply to this incredibly fantastic school, despite its sometimes frustrating flaws, I’m going to do an end of semester/year photo look-back on my adventures as a transfer student.

ORIENTATION
Definitely one of the most fun times I’ve had at Swat…I’m close friends with pretty much everyone I hung out with at Orientation, and had a really fantastic time.

My first day in Willets

My first day in Willets

The ampitheater during First Collection

The ampitheater during First Collection

The original Cabal at First Collection

The original Cabal at First Collection - Charlotte, Jeanie, Erick, Rayan, and me

Incurring an alleged $500 fine

Incurring an alleged $500 fine

The silly hat dance - Jeanie, Rayan, Charlotte, and me

The silly hat dance - Jeanie, Rayan, Charlotte, and me

FALL SEMESTER BEGINS
The start to fall semester was, due in large part to my poor time management skills, virtually stress free! I built a fort in my dorm room, went to some great parties, and experienced Swat and Philly to their fullest.

My friend Jess came to visit me and we went to the swim party - Erick, Jeanie, Rayan, me, Ted, Jess

My friend Jess came to visit me and we went to the swim party - Erick, Jeanie, Rayan, me, Ted, Jess

If you dance like this...you should probably transfer to Swarthmore - Erick, Jeanie, Rayan

If you dance like this...you should probably transfer to Swarthmore - Erick, Jeanie, Rayan

Then I had dinner with Michael Dukakis!

Then I had dinner with Michael Dukakis!

And then I hosted some prospective students for Discovery Weekend! - Kayla, Victoria, me, Sudie, Marielle

And then I hosted some prospective students for Discovery Weekend! - Kayla, Victoria, me, Sudie, Marielle

I was sad when I scalded my arm in the library

I was sad when I scalded my arm in the library

But then I was happy because it was fall break!

But then I was happy because it was fall break!

And I got a tattoo!

And I got a tattoo!

HALLOWEEN AND CABIRTHDAYS

When we returned from fall break, Halloween and two birthdays were right around the corner. Having lived through the stress of midterms and a few Philly adventures, the Cabal put its collective thinking cap on and thought up the perfect group costume – the Seven Deadly Sins!

By this time, Pub Nite was a given - Robert, Rich, Anagha, Rayan, me, Jasper, and Ted

By this time, Pub Nite was a given - Robert, Rich, Anagha, Rayan, me, Jasper, and Ted

If you dance like Rayan and I, youre probably a little too cool to transfer to Swat, but do so anyway.

If you dance like Rayan and I, you're probably a little too cool to transfer to Swat, but do so anyway.

We ate at this restaurant multiple times

We ate at this restaurant multiple times

Philly public transport does kind of suck.

Philly public transport does kind of suck.

Then it was Halloween! Rich, me, and Erick as Sloth, Wrath, and Pride

Then it was Halloween! Rich, me, and Erick as Sloth, Wrath, and Pride

Me, Greg, and Rayan as Wrath, Gluttony, and Lust

Me, Greg, and Rayan as Wrath, Gluttony, and Lust

Me and Jeanie, Wrath and Greed

Me and Jeanie, Wrath and Greed

All the sins!

All the sins!

The Sharples party was insane!

The Sharples party was insane!

This is me, being one of the boys at Pub Nite - Ted, Robert, me, Erick, Rayan, and Rich

This is me, being one of the boys at Pub Nite - Ted, Robert, me, Erick, Rayan, and Rich

And then what happened…oh yeah:


BARACK OBAMA ELECTED PRESIDENT.  (There is video of the Swarthmore reaction, I can’t post it at this time, but I will try in the future.]

In other news, Greg turned 21! Me, Chloe, Greg

In other news, Greg turned 21! Me, Chloe, Greg

And then it was Thanksgiving. After Thanksgiving…things got crazy.

THE CABAL STUDIES, SWEARS, AND SAVES CHRISTMAS

So as I mentioned earlier, I was much more carefree before Thanksgiving. But after I returned from Thanksgiving…it was major crunch time. I spent pretty much all of my time in McCabe, with the exception of a few Pub Nites, the times when Rich and I were kicking debater ass all up and down the APDA circuit, and of course, the Cabal Christmas Party. But first…I had to get everyone in the Christmas spirit.

Showing Erick the Scrooge the joys of Christmas.

Showing Erick the Scrooge the joys of Christmas.

My holiday chandelier, crafted by Rayan, Robert, and Ted

My holiday chandelier, crafted by Rayan, Robert, and Ted

Let there be lights!

Let there be lights!

Lights everywhere!

Lights everywhere!

This was my view from McCabe when I went in...

This was my view from McCabe when I went in...

...and this was my view from McCabe when I left.

...and this was my view from McCabe when I left.

I studied...

I studied...

...and studied...

...and studied...

...and...rocked out at Pub Nite...

...and...rocked out at Pub Nite...

...and pondered some of lifes mysteries with Rich and Erick at Pub Nite...

...and pondered some of life's mysteries with Rich and Erick at Pub Nite...

...and STUDIED.

...and STUDIED.

But it all paid off and then it was time for Christmas!

We gathered the presents under the tree!

We gathered the presents under the tree!

Erick got Richs textbooks...

Erick got Rich's textbooks...

...I got kitty things!!

...I got kitty things!!

Rayan got Twilight things!

Rayan got Twilight things!

n1321260424_206294_3349So that’s that. That’s my first semester as a transfer student. I had a blast, worked hard, got good grades, and even better friends.

Enjoy the last few hours of 2008, and if you haven’t already, give some thought to transferring to Swat.

Yours in 2009,
The Transfer Student

2 Responses to “The Swarthmore Guilt-Filler Post.”

  1. Jeanie Says:

    OMG SOOOO CUTEEEEE.
    even if you put up the drunkest extant pictures of me.
    WONDERFUL.

    it must’ve taken forever to upload all those.

    ❤ swat. missitwanttocomeback.

  2. Jeanie Says:

    ps super congrats on the grades!

Leave a Reply

