The Dire Straits of Swarthmore.

October 30, 2008

I am so frustrated.

I’m only 2/3 of the way through my literature review that is due Friday. I am desperately trying to make all the revisions I want to my philosophy paper that is due in nine hours. I emailed my professor about getting an extension if we are not allowed to rewrite this paper after grading, but SURPRISE, Swatmail isn’t working. AGAIN. I have absolutely had it with the abominable “ITS” and internet services here. I can’t figure out whether or not I have an extension, nor can I email my boss to tell her I can’t come in tomorrow.

I would be less stressed about my lit review, but my parents are coming up to see me tomorrow night, so they’ll be occupying my time until I go off to Pub Night. This sounds trite (the PN part of it anyway), but if I don’t have a destressor in the form of a large social gathering after the week I’ve had, I will most likely go completely insane. Since I am meeting with Melinda, my awesome econ tutor, I won’t have time to work on the paper between my classes, which only leaves the hours of three to six to finish the paper, take a nap, and get a shower.

I AM IN SO OVER MY HEAD!

It’s a little unfair that transfers don’t get any sort of transition period. Coming from community college, I am probably even less prepared than many freshman. As a result, I’ve been focusing on stepping back, taking deep breaths, and realizing that grades here are not everything. Am I going to do as well this semester as I did last year? Absolutely not. Not even close. But that’s okay, because I’m in an adjustment phase.

So even though I’m so intensely frustrated right now, I’m going to end on an upnote. Yes, Swarthmore is ridiculously hard. Yes, it is overwhelming. Yes, there are a lot of times where I’m struggling with course material and I feel like I don’t belong here at all.

But the bottom line is…I do belong here. I feel it when concepts finally click for me, I feel it when I’m discussing politics with my friends…I belong here.

I got in, I passed the swim test, and I will be damned if I’m going to drown now.

Still swimming,
The Transfer Student

2 Responses to “The Dire Straits of Swarthmore.”

  1. tom Says:

    relax just keep doing the work…if need be go talk to your advisor, one of the deans or tom Elverson…keep it up you will be ok….

  2. lisetteder Says:

    word. successful completion of the swim test definitely indicates that one belongs at swarthmore. you’re no exception.

Leave a Reply

