The First Day.

September 2, 2008

Today was my first day of school! Isn’t that adorable?

I woke up about six different times during the night. My class actually started at 11:30, and I went to bed earlier than I will tonight for my 9:55 class. But I was so concerned that I was going to oversleep and miss my alarm, so I kept waking myself up. Then, when my alarm went off, I actually did turn it off instead of snoozing it by accident, so I ended up waking up at 11:17, which was a little stressful. I threw on some clothes, hurried my way to what I thought was Kohlberg, found out that it was Trotter, and sprinted into my first Swarthmore class…late. It ended up not being terribly late, and Professor Golub was understanding. I really enjoyed the class, Golub is definitely hardcore. Well, he’s as hardcore as a fairly soft-spoken, very nice economics professor can be. Apparently he does a lot of economic advising for various governments in Africa, which I think is great. Also, he teaches international econ, which I will probably take if I like this class as much as I think I will.

Then I met up with Ted, Jasper, Jeanie, Dina, and Erick for lunch. It was really nice talking to Dina in person finally after so many fantastic online discussions. She’s a lot of fun, but I think dropping approximately half of the Cabal on her at much may have been a little overwhelming. 😉 And I’ll also see her in less than seven hours for my American Elections class!

I hung out with Jeanie in her room, went to the Worth health center to request prescription services that they no longer offer, applied for some on campus jobs, and then went back to Willets to change into my workout clothes for my aerobics class.

Upon going to the aerobics class, I found out that a fellow Crum Creek wader from Saturday night, Ben, was in my class! That was a pleasant surprise. Also a pleasant surprise is that our energetic instructor, Professor Noveral, has a French accent that is like music. Unfortunately, I paid less attention to the moves (because I couldn’t see) than the beautiful accent, so I was constantly offbeat and making a fool of myself. Lesson learned, I’ll get a spot in the front next time. I’m hoping I get the hang of things pretty soon, because Prof. Noveral seems like a lot of fun.

Dinner with part of the Cabal, par usual. Also, Ben joined us, so he added his mystical Ben-flavor to the conversation. I think the part that cracked me up the most was when he said, “I hope [this incident] doesn’t result in the bombing of the entire surrounding area…I feel like that would be a low point in Swarthmore history.” I felt like I was going to die laughing.

But, unfortunately, the incident to which he was referring was much  more somber. Last night at around 4:20, a girl was attacked in her room by someone wielding what appeared to be a knife. Apparently, the man came into her unlocked room, told her not to scream because he had a knife, and then she screamed and he fled. Jeanie and I heard about it after lunch at Sharples, and I was just so shocked and appalled that this kind of thing would happen not only at Swarthmore, but on the night before the first day of classes? I mean, that was the first night that the entire student body was here, and now it is tainted by a senseless act of violation on a fellow Swattie and Willets resident. I do not know who the victim was, but my heart certainly goes out to her. They’ve started changing the locks in Willets…I’m not entirely sure what this is supposed to do, because people still hold the door for people coming to Willets, and it’s such a huge dorm that you cannot possibly know everyone who lives there.

And, using that as a segue, I just receieved an email about a special election being held for Student Council…apparently they’re looking for campus life representatives, and I think I’m going to run. Honestly, I’d love to be involved in something like that, and if I can work with a bunch of Swatties and faculty in order to make Swarthmore an even better, safer place than it already is, it would be like a dream come true. I probably won’t win, being a new student that not many people know, but I might as well give it a shot. Nothing ventured, nothing gained, right?

Anyway, I really do need to get to sleep since it’s approaching four AM. I’m actually passing my keys to Ted so he can wake me up in the morning on HIS way to class because I don’t trust myself. Isn’t that awful?

Yours more than ever,
The Transfer Student

2 Responses to “The First Day.”

  1. lisetteder Says:

    THE CABAL WILL VOTE FOR YOU.

  2. lisetteder Says:

    also, there were several people late to every class i’ve been to so far. i don’t think you should be too concerned about first-week lateness.

Leave a Reply

