The Summer…So Far.

July 21, 2008

The summer so far has been hot, humid, and largely fruitless. It’s hard to believe that I’ve only been back in town for two weeks. My time home feels like an endless chasm of painstakingly filled out restaurant applications,  only to be handed off to someone who says, “Actually, at this time, we just hired four servers, but if you come back in August, we should be hiring again.”

I’ve never had to look this hard for a job before. I got my job of two years’ on the spot, and Friendly’s was always a place I could go back to for some fast cash. But things were bad before I went back to Portland in May. People were not tipping, generally irritable, and there were always eight servers on the (very small) floor. Besides, I’ve always been determined not to be one of those people that becomes old enough to work in a “real” restaurant (i.e., outside of the Harford Mall and serving alcohol) and yet goes back to Friendly’s instead. Well you know what they, well I, say…pride over poverty.

Besides failing to get a job, I have been seeing friends and family, which is nice, and putting myself on a diet and exercise regimen, which is not. I’ll detail the former, and more pleasant of the two first.

I’ve spent most of my time with Jess, my best friend since the fifth grade. Right now, her husband is in Afghanistan, and with me having been gone for eight months (and about to leave again), we’ve been soaking up as much time together as possible. I’ve also been able to see my two best friends from high school, Rachel and Kayla. Kayla is also transferring to another college this year, after being accepted to and subsequently hating her dream school, Loyola College in Baltimore. So next year, she will be a sophomore transfer student at American University, a great school in DC that I was seriously considering before I heard from Swat. Rachel commutes to the College-Formerly-Known-as-Villa-Julie, which is putting her right on track for her dream of becoming an elementary school teacher. I have to admit, I’m a little jealous of her. She seems to be the only one of my friends that didn’t have an absolutely horrendous time at “real college” her first year, and one of the only people I know that have any clue what she wants to do. My conversations with people usually go something like this:

Conversationalist: So where are you going to school?
Me: Um, well I spent last year at a community college in Portland, OR, and this year I’m transferring into Swarthmore.
Conversationalist: Oh yeah? Where is that, what’s your major?
Me: It’s right outside Philly…it’s a good school…um, political science as of now.
Conversationalist: Wow, that’s great! Political science, you gonna go into politics?
Me: NO, well, I don’t know uh, maybe law school, I don’t, excuse me.

I had the pleasure of having that discussion with at least ten people on Friday, at my mom’s book release party. Thursday marked the publication of her first novel, which I am SO excited and proud of her for. And may I just point out to anyone that stumbles across this, it is available as an eBook here.

And onto…the diet. While I am not a heavy person, I am the heaviest I’ve ever been. Plus, I would like to be a little healthier. So I am on a quest to lose a little weight, and get into the habit of exercising. Hopefully, by August it will be enough of a habit that I can keep it up even when I go back to school.

This weekend was probably the most fun I’ve had this summer, the east coast part of it anyway. On Saturday, following the previous night’s book party, Kayla and I traipsed into Philadelphia to vist her sister and get a new cell phone for Kayla. On the way back, the exit for Swarthmore, that big, bold, exit 3, was too much for us to resist. So we went to the campus, parked, walked around, and looked at…well actually, we have no idea what we looked at, but we did see a lot. Even walking around on the campus didn’t really make it real to me. I’m not sure when it will become real to me, probably somewhere around the second week when I rip out enormous clumps of my hair and run screaming across Parrish beach because the sheer workload has finally broken my fragile spirit. While it may have still been a surreal experience, trekking across the various paths through my home for the next three years, it was a great experience. I couldn’t wipe the huge, goofy grin off of my face.

On a complete side note, yesterday I went with my parents, boyfriend, and best friend to see The Dark Knight. It was, as everyone in the free world knows by now, incredible. I was, however, incredibly saddened by Heath Ledger’s extremely untimely demise. The night before, I had watched 10 Things I Hate About You with a group of my friends. I have been in love with that movie and Patrick Verona (Ledger) for nearly a decade. A lot of critics and moviegoers seemed shocked that Ledger put on such an amazing performance. I, however, have never seen a Ledger role I didn’t like. I can be accused of having a soft spot for him, having been exposed to him at age nine when I was very impressionable, but all I know is that the world lost an incredibly gifted actor this year.

That’s about it for all the updates. I really do have to get all my Swat forms in soon, I’m just waiting for my physical, having accidentally missed my appointment today.

I wish I could find just one other, single, solitary transfer student in my class on Facebook.

Until then,
The Transfer Student

Leave a Reply

