The Last Five Days.

July 8, 2008

Wow, I’ve barely had this blog for a week, and already I’m lapsing into that irresponsible, non-updating phase. I have fairly reasonable excuses this time, which I’ll explain in this blog.

Thursday, after Chad and I got lunch in Chinatown, we freshened up at the hotel, and hopped on the BARt to the North Berkeley station. Half an hour later, we met one of my dad’s college friends, Andy, Swat class of ’91. He drove us, in his manual car (I made the joke to Chad that all Swatties must drive stick), to the house of another fellow Swattie, Matt, who had come in with the class of ’90 with my dad, but graduated with Andy. Also there was Michael, a Swarthmore economics major who had been a colleague to Steven Levitt, author of Freakonomics, and is now the head honcho of economics at MIT.

I felt somewhat intimidated, as I often do with Swat graduates. It’s the transfer dilemna again, that slight discomfort that comes from knowing that even though I may bond with these Swatties, everyone around me was accepted the first time around. But Chad and I ended up having a pretty good time. Everyone was very cool, very hilarious, and had some great Swat stories. They all agreed that next year, I’ll be the most popular girl on campus, because everyone in the sophomore class will be so sick of each other that they’ll just be thirsting for new blood. Of course, there was the joking around about how I should really go to Washington College instead, which are stinging a bit in the face of just how expensive next year is going to be.

All in all, it was a good night. The next day, however, the Fourth of July and our last night in San Francisco, was less good. Chad and I hung out in the hotel, got terrible food, I fell into a food coma, and by the time I woke up, it was getting dark. We rushed to the bus to see the Golden Gate Bridge, missed our stop, rode to the completely opposite end of town, and missed the fireworks by the time we got back. Being with Chad transformed it into a memorable (in a good way) night, and after a meal at Denny’s and unwittingly becoming bystanders in a police chase on our street, we were finally packed and ready to go.

Two hours of sleep, a flight delay, and six hours of screaming children later, we were back on the east coast. It felt amazingly good to see my parents again, and after having a nice, home-cooked meal with them, I went to my close friend Rachel‘s house to celebrate her nineteenth birthday.

It’s such a weird feeling to see everyone after a month or more of being away. In some respects, you fall back into that natural groove that’s been paved since high school, but in others it feels like you’re merely acquaintances, catching up on each other’s lives politely before rushing back to our own hectic schedules. It’s a little sad, and makes me a little nostalgic, but I suppose that it is yet another step in the natural progression of things.

Not too much else has happened. I miss being with Chad every second, and being apart, even if it is just going back to the way we were before the trip. I think it is also making me realize just how crazy it is going to be when I’m working myself to the bone at Swarthmore, and he’s nearly two hours away in Maryland. Ditto for my best friend Jess. I love hanging out with her all day, and then talking to her online when she gets home.

But reality is reality. In less than two months, I will be moving onto the campus of Swarthmore College. That is only two months to spend living with my parents again, two months of soaking up my boyfriend and my closest friends, and two months to land a job waiting tables to make a small dent in the gigantic expense that is Swarthmore sans financial aid.

So that’s it, the latest update. I’ll be sure to write again when more Swat-related developments or realizations come to light.

Yours in Nostalgia,
The Transfer Student

One Response to “The Last Five Days.”


  1. […] until my parents arrived. We went to Panera, and then saw Michael Greenstone, with whom I had dinner in California, give a speech about global warming and its effects on health from an economic […]

Leave a Reply

